About Us



The APPG for High Speed Rail is a cross-party group of MPs who believe that Britain needs a modern high-speed rail network. The group’s objectives are to raise awareness of the need for high-speed rail among parliamentarians and to provide a forum for discussion and debate on high-speed rail.


The group has around eighty members from all three main political parties as well representation from smaller political parties. The members represent constituencies across the whole of the UK.


The governance of the APPG is as follows:


Stuart Andrew, MP for Pudsey 
Graham Stringer, MP for Blackley & Broughton

Vice Chair

Graham Evans, MP for Weaver Vale


Gisela Stuart, MP for Birmingham Edgbaston


Lucy James, Westbourne Communications


The APPG for High Speed Rail has around 70 active members from across the political spectrum. The group's leading members are as follows:


Bob Ainsworth MP

Stuart Andrew MP

Clive Betts MP

Paul Blomfield MP

David Blunkett MP

Graham Evans MP

Zac Goldsmith MP

Julie Hilling MP

John Leech MP

Christopher Leslie MP

Jason McCartney MP

Esther McVey MP

David Mowat MP

Greg Mulholland MP

Meg Munn MP

Simon Reevell MP

Rachel Reeves MP

Angela C. Smith MP

Graham Stringer MP

Craig Whittaker MP



The official House of Commons register for the APPG can be found online here

Sign Up To The Newsletter


Enter the search text and press search.